Home About Beer Citizen Idiots

Citizen Idiots


Beer Idiots Ahmed ElAmin and Dieter Proost are having a quiet sit down and drink after being shortlisted by the British Guild of Beer Writers for their award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator. Congrats to the other two shortlisted in the same category and to Belgium-based writers Breandán Kearney and Eoghan Walsh, who were nominated in other categories. Eoghan is nominated in four categories!

Here is the shortlist from the announcement. The winners will be announced on  3 December at a dinner in London.


Guild Award for Best Citizen Beer Communicator

Guild Award for Best Beer Writer – Corporate Communications

Guild Award for Best Beer Broadcaster

Long Live the Local Award for Best Writer about Pubs

  • Ian Clayton for It’s the Beer Talking
  • Matthew Curtis for writing on www.pelliclemag.com
  • James Dowdeswell for The Pub Manifesto
  • Katie Taylor for writing in Ferment

Asahi Award for Best Beer and Travel Writer

  • Claire Bullen for writing on www.goodbeerhunting.com
  • Jonny Garrett for YouTube films and article in BEER
  • Laura Hadland for www.extremehousewife.com
  • Vince Raison for Today South London, Tomorrow South London
  • Eoghan Walsh for articles in Ferment, Pellicle and others

Carlsberg UK Award for Best Writing about Sustainability in Beer and Pubs

  • Matthew Curtis for articles in Ferment
  • Alastair Gilmour for articles in Cheers
  • Will Hawkes for articles in BEER, among others
  • Roger Protz for posts on www.protzonbeer.co.uk/

St Austell Family Group Award for Best Young Beer Writer

Heineken Award for Best Beer Communicator – Online

Fuller Smith & Turner Award for Best Beer Writer – Trade Media

  • Matthew Curtis for articles in www.goodbeerhunting.com
  • Anthony Gladman for articles including Drinks Retailing News
  • Will Hawkes for articles in Imbibe
  • Richard Molloy for articles in Inapub
  • Adrian Tierney-Jones for articles in Imbibe

Adnams Award for Best Beer Writer – Regional Media

  • Tomm Carroll for articles in www.beerpaperla.com/
  • Alastair Gilmour for Cheers
  • Simon Jenkins for The Yorkshire Beer Bible
  • Jane Peyton for regional radio broadcasts

Greene King Award for Best Beer Writer – National Media

  • Claire Bullen for The Beer Lover’s Table and various articles
  • Ian Clayton for It’s the Beer Talking
  • Roger Protz for articles in What’s Brewing and BEER
  • Adrian Tierney-Jones for articles in Daily Star, Daily Telegraph and others
  • Eoghan Walsh for articles in Ferment, Pellicle and others

SIBA Brewer of the Year

Guild members nominated the following brewers and the winner, decided by member vote, will be announced at the event:

  • Greg Hobbs, Five Points Brewing Co
  • Scott Lawrence, Batemans
  • Sophie de Ronde, Burnt Mill Brewing
  • Rob Topham, Camden Town Brewery
  • Ben Wilkinson, Wylam Brewery


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments